HOUSE BILL No. 4313

February 22, 2011, Introduced by Reps. Constan, Geiss, Womack, Stallworth, Liss, Oakes, Durhal, Lindberg, Tlaib, Darany, Heise and Santana and referred to the Committee on Judiciary.

A bill to amend 1961 PA 236, entitled

"Revised judicature act of 1961,"

by amending section 8121 (MCL 600.8121), as amended by 2001 PA 258.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN ENACT:

Sec. 8121. (1) The sixteenth district consists of the city of
 Livonia, is a district of the third class, and has 2 judges.

(2) The seventeenth district consists of the township ofRedford in the county of Wayne, is a district of the third class,and has 2 judges.

(3) The eighteenth district consists of the city of Westland,is a district of the third class, and has 2 judges.

(4) The nineteenth district consists of the city of Dearborn,is a district of the third class, and has 3 judges.

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

1 (5) The-EXCEPT AS OTHERWISE PROVIDED IN THIS SUBSECTION, THE twentieth district consists of the city of Dearborn Heights, is a 2 district of the third class, and has 2 judges. IF THE CITY OF 3 4 DEARBORN HEIGHTS AND THE CITY OF GARDEN CITY APPROVE BY RESOLUTION OF THEIR LEGISLATIVE BODIES THE REFORMATION OF THE TWENTIETH 5 DISTRICT AND THE ABOLITION OF THE TWENTY-FIRST DISTRICT PURSUANT TO 6 LAW, THE TWENTIETH DISTRICT CONSISTS OF THE CITY OF DEARBORN 7 HEIGHTS AND THE CITY OF GARDEN CITY, IS A DISTRICT OF THE THIRD 8 CLASS, AND HAS 3 JUDGES, EFFECTIVE JANUARY 2, 2012. 9

(6) The-EXCEPT AS OTHERWISE PROVIDED IN THIS SUBSECTION, THE 10 11 twenty-first district consists of the city of Garden City, is a 12 district of the third class, and has 1 judge. IF THE CITY OF DEARBORN HEIGHTS AND THE CITY OF GARDEN CITY APPROVE BY RESOLUTION 13 OF THEIR LEGISLATIVE BODIES THE REFORMATION OF THE TWENTIETH 14 DISTRICT AND THE ABOLITION OF THE TWENTY-FIRST DISTRICT PURSUANT TO 15 LAW, THE TWENTY-FIRST DISTRICT IS ABOLISHED EFFECTIVE JANUARY 2, 16 17 2012.

18 (7) The twenty-second district consists of the city of19 Inkster, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

20 (8) The twenty-third district consists of the city of Taylor,
21 is a district of the third class, and has 2 judges.

(9) The twenty-fourth district consists of the cities of Allen
Park and Melvindale, is a district of the third class, and has 2
judges.

25 (10) The twenty-fifth district consists of the city of Lincoln
26 Park, is a district of the third class, and has 2 judges.

27

(11) The twenty-sixth district consists of the cities of River

00430'11

TLG

2

Rouge and Ecorse, is a district of the third class, and is divided
 into the following election divisions:

3 (a) The first division consists of the city of River Rouge and4 has 1 judge.

5 (b) The second division consists of the city of Ecorse and has6 1 judge.

7 (12) The twenty-seventh district consists of the following, as
8 applicable:

9 (a) Until January 1, 2003 or until a vacancy occurs in a

10 judgeship in the twenty-seventh district, whichever occurs first,

11 the twenty-seventh district consists of the cities of Wyandotte and

12 Riverview, is a district of the third class, and is divided into

- 13 the following election divisions:
- 14 (i) The first division consists of the city of Wyandotte and
 15 has 1 judge.

16 (*ii*) The second division consists of the city of Riverview and 17 has 1 judge.

(b) Beginning January 1, 2003 or the date on which a vacancy
 occurs in a judgeship in the twenty-seventh district, whichever

20 occurs first, the twenty-seventh district consists of the cities of

21 Wyandotte and Riverview, is a district of the third class, and has

- 22 1 judge. The remaining incumbent judge of the twenty-seventh
- 23 district shall serve as the judge of the entire twenty-seventh

24 district for the balance of the term to which he or she was elected 25 or appointed.

26 (13) The twenty-eighth district consists of the city of

27 Southgate, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

TLG

3

(14) The twenty-ninth district consists of the city of Wayne, 1 2 is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge. (15) The thirtieth district consists of the city of Highland 3 4 Park, is a district of the third class, and has the following 5 number of judges: 1 JUDGE. (a) Until subdivision (b) takes effect, this district has 2 6 7 judges. (b) This district has 1 judge beginning on the earlier of the 8 9 following dates: (i) The date on which a vacancy occurs in the office of 10 11 district judge in this district. 12 (*ii*) 12 noon, January 1, 2003. (16) The thirty-first district consists of the city of 13 Hamtramck, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge. 14 (17) The thirty-second-a district consists of the city of 15 Harper Woods, is a district of the third class, and has 1 judge. 16 17 (18) The thirty-second-b district consists of the cities of Grosse Pointe Woods, Grosse Pointe Park, Grosse Pointe, and Grosse 18 19 Pointe Farms, and the village of Grosse Pointe Shores, is a 20 district of the third class, and has 1 judge.

4

(19) The thirty-third district consists of the cities of
Trenton, Gibraltar, Woodhaven, Rockwood, and Flat Rock and the
townships of Brownstown and Grosse Ile in the county of Wayne, is a
district of the third class, and has 3 judges.

(20) The thirty-fourth district consists of the townships of
Sumpter, Van Buren, and Huron in the county of Wayne and the cities
of Romulus and Belleville, is a district of the third class, and

TLG

1 has 3 judges.

2 (21) The thirty-fifth district consists of the cities of 3 Northville and Plymouth and the townships of Northville, Plymouth, 4 and Canton in the county of Wayne, is a district of the third 5 class, and has 2-3 judges. Subject to section 8175, this district may have 1 additional judge effective January 1, 2003. If a new 6 office of judge is added to this district to be filled by election 7 in 2002, the term of office of the judge for that election only 8 9 shall be 8 years.

5

Enacting section 1. If the twentieth judicial district is reformed and the twenty-first judicial district is abolished pursuant to this amendatory act and section 8176 of the revised judicature act of 1961, MCL 600.8176, all of the following apply: (a) The change in the composition of the affected judicial

15 districts shall take effect for judicial purposes on January 2, 16 2012.

(b) The incumbent judge of the twenty-first judicial district who resides in Garden City shall become a judge of the twentieth judicial district on January 2, 2012 and shall serve until the term for which he or she was elected or appointed in the twenty-first judicial district expires.

(c) For purposes of the November 2014 general election only,
the term of the candidate for district judge in this district who
receives the highest number of votes shall be 8 years.

00430'11

Final Page

TLG